Researches Signal Processing

Signal Processing


Share this story:

Introduction

The Signal Processing Research Group at MCS focuses research activities related to design and implementation of signal processing algorithms. The group is working on concepts related to market-based applications with the aim to enhance undergraduate and postgraduate students design skills.​

1.   ​Research Areas

  • ​Analogue Signal Processing
  • Digital Signal Processing
  • Audio Signal Processing
  • Radio Signal Processing
  • Radar Signal Processing
  • Multidimensional Signal Processing​

2.   Research Group Members​​

​​​​ ​ ​ ​ ​Faculty
Sr. #​
Name
​Designation ​Specialisat​​ion ​​Contact Details
1.
Dr. Abdul​​ Ghafoor
​Assistant Professor ​Control Systems ​abdulghafoor-mcs@nust.edu.pk
​2. ​Dr. Imran Tauqir ​Assistant Professor ​Digital Signals / Image Processing and Stochastic Process ​imrantqr@mcs.edu.pk
​3. ​Dr. Adnan Rashdi ​Assistant Professor ​​Multiuser Communication Systems ​adnanrashdi@mcs.edu.pk
4.
Dr. Adil Masood
​Assistant Professor ​Digital Signals Processing dradil@mcs.edu.pk
5.
Dr. Attiq Ahmed ​Assistant Professor Image / Signal processing ​attiq@msc.edu.pk
6.
Dr. Hasnat Khurshid ​Assistant Professor Image / Signal processing ​hasnat@msc.edu.pk
7.
Dr. Saeed Murtaza ​Associate Professor Mathematical Modelling and Computer Simulations smurtaza@mcs.edu.pk
​8. ​Muhammad Khan Minhas ​Assistant Professor Signal Processing, Telecomm Systems, Cryptology khanminhas52@mcs.edu.pk
9. Syed Javed Hussain ​Assistant Professor Electronic Devices/ Communication Systems sjhussain@mcs.edu.pk
10. ​Umar Khalid ​Assistant Professor ​Telecommunication Engineering ​umar@mcs.edu.pk
​11. ​Dr. Muhammad Imran ​Assistant Professor ​Control Systems ​m.imran@mcs.edu.pk
​12. ​Dr. Abdul Wakeel ​Assistant Professor ​Communications / Signal Processing ​awakeel@mcs.edu.pk
​13. ​Dr. Alina Mirza ​Assistant Professor ​Digital Signal Processing/ Communication Systems ​alinamirza@mcs.edu.pk
​14. Sara Jamil ​Lab Engineer ​Electrical Telecommunication ​sara.jamil@mcs.edu.pk

 

​Student Member(s) ​
​Sr. # ​Name ​Supervi​sor ​Research Topic ​Start Date Contact Details​
​1. ​Faisal Akram ​Dr. Imr​​an Rashid ​Compressed Sensing ​23-2-2016 ​faisal.akram@mcs.edu.pk
​2.​ ​Nasrullah ​Dr. Imran Rashid ​Interference Mitigation in MIMO ​1-10-2016 ​nasrullah1771@hotmail.com

 

3.   Research Facilities Available

  • DSK 6713 Kits​
  • DSP Kits
  • Audio Daughter cards
  • High end computer systems with specialized software

Research Group Publications

Journals

  • ​Iqbal, A. Ghafoor, S. Haider “PAPR based Spatial Spectrum Sensing for Cognitive Radio Systems” Computers and Electrical Engineering 2017 ISSN: 0045-7906, IF: 1.084 Article ID: COMPELECENG_2017_110
  • M. Imran, A. Ghafoor, M. Imran, H. M. Kamboh “Decomposition of 2-D into 1-D Systems” Automatic,  2017 ISSN: 0005-1098, IF: 3.635 Article ID: 17-0123
  • S. Haider, A. Ghafoor, M. Imran and M. F. Mumtaz “Model Reduction of  Large Scale Descriptor Systems using Time Limited Gramians” Asian Journal of Control, 2017. DOI: 10.1002/asjc.1444, ISSN: 1561-8625, IF: 1.407
  • A. Ghafoor and M. Imran,  “Frequency Weighted Passivity Preserving Model Reduction Technique” IMA Journal of Mathematical Control and Information,  2017 ISSN: 0265-0754, IF: 1.156 (accepted) Article ID: IMAMCI-2016-008.R1
  • M. Imran, A. Ghafoor, M .Imran, “Frequency Limited Model Reduction Techniques with Error Bounds” IEEE Transaction on Circuit and Systems II, 2017. ISSN:1549-7747, IF: 1.136 (accepted with revision) Article ID: TCAS-II-01087-201
  • Ayesha Zeb, Alina Mirza, Qasim Umar Khan and Shahzad A. Sheikh,” New Active Noise Control algorithms for Impulsive Noise”, Applied Acoustics, 116, 364-374, 2017
  • Ayesha Saadia, Adnan Rashdi “Fractional order integration and fuzzy logic-based filter for denoising of echocardiographic image” Computer Methods and Programmes in Biomedicine, ISSN:0169-2607, Volume 137, Pages 65-75, December 2016.

Conference Papers

  • ​M. Imran, M.J. Awan and A. Ghafoor,”Model Reduction Techniques with Error Bounds”, 13th IEEE Conference on Automation Science and Engineering, Xian, Aug. 20-23, 2017.
  • Alina Mirza, Sumrin Mehak Kabir, and Shahzad Amin Sheikh, “Reduction of Impulsive Noise in OFDM Systems Using a Hybrid Method,” Vol. 4, No. 3, pp. 226-230, June 2016.
  • Javeria Habib, Ayesha Zeb, Alina Mirza, Shahzad Amin Sheikh, “Impulsive Noise Cancellation from ECG signal using SSLMS Algorithm,” International Conference of Multimedia Systems and Signal Processing (ICMSSP 2016), June 25, 2016.​

Contact Research Group:

Dr. Alina Mirza (Research Group Coordinator)
Assistant Professor, MCS
Email: alinamirza@mcs.edu.pk​


Share this story: